OITNB Cast Talks Nudity, Diversity, and a “Lighter” Season 3

The Hollywood Reporter reported Thursday (5/21/15) on the pre-season 3 interview with Jenji Kohan, Taylor Schilling (Piper), Uzo Aduba (Crazy Eyes),Danielle Brooks (Taystee), Kate Mulgrew (Red), Laverne Cox (Sophia) and Selenis Leyva (Gloria).

Though this interview covered a variety of topics, they focused on a few key ones.

Kohan and cast talk nudity and beauty standards:

“If I had my way, I’d have a lot more,” Kohan said of the amount of nudity involved in the racy dramedy, prompting a series of quips about an entirely naked season 4. Speaking about her desire to showcase a variety of shapes, colors and sizes in the flesh, she said, “We still have this prudish, puritanical culture, and we also have so little exposure to diversity in bodies.”

The Prison Industrial Complex:

“The prison industrial complex is a giant embarrassment and failure in this country. It’s horrific that we are caging one in every hundred people,” she said, noting that crime rates are lower than ever while incarceration rates are higher than ever. While she recognizes that she can’t change the system, she said she hopes that by starting a conversation about it through her series, people who do have that power will do something about it.

Danielle Brooks shares her gratitude:

“Being a women of curves, I think it’s really important to talk about loving your body the way you are. That’s something I’ve definitely struggled with in my life,” she said, noting how grateful she is to be on a show where she is loved just the way she is. “People love Taystee for who she is, and they’ve come to love me, Danielle, for who I am, and it’s not because I’m a size two or because I’m light skinned with long hair,” she said before breaking down in tears. “That means the world to me because I didn’t see many examples of myself growing up. Now, I’m that girl who I wanted to see.”

Click the image above to read the full article.

 

Leave a Reply

